Skip to content

Centre for International Law

International law, with its set of rules established through treaty or custom, is the key to stable international relations, collective security, and sustainable development. When international law is not respected, growing insecurity and inequalities, as well as attacks on the rule of law, become the norm. Following decades of efforts to expand the reach and content of international law through multilateralism, international law is now challenged by global power shifts and rising nationalism.

The Centre for International Law (CIL) responds to some of the most pressing regional and global challenges, by conducting independent research and bringing to the fore the role of international law in addressing the current needs of society. The CIL also convenes expert discussions and training to further advance the development of international law. Some of the areas of focus of the CIL include human rights, migration, climate change, investment and trade, among others. In its work, the CIL also considers the important role that non-state actors, such as businesses and civil society, can have in the development and in the upholding of international law.

Given present global tensions and threats to sustainable development, the role of international law, and the efforts of the CIL to support it, appear more relevant than ever before.

Below are the current areas of research of the Centre


  • Arthur Watts Fellowship
  • Dorset Fellowship
  • Maurice Wohl Fellowship

Advisory Panel

The CIL is guided by the Public International Law Advisory Panel, comprising prominent academics, practitioners and government officials.

Chair: Chanaka Wickremasinghe

Members: Dapo Akande, David H. Anderson CMG, Professor Eyal Benvenisti, Sir Frank Berman KCMG QC, Sir Daniel Bethlehem KCMG QC, Michelle Burgis, Shehzad Charania, Professor James Crawford SC, Tim Eicke, Professor Malcolm Forster, Jessica Gladstone, Vaughan Lowe QC, Iain Macleod, Alistair McGlone, Maurice Mendelson QC, Thérèse O'Donnell, Professor Roger O'Keefe, Kate Parlett, Catherine Redgwell, Amy Sander, Antonios Tzanakopoulos, Robert Volterra, Philippa Webb, Ralph Wilde, Elizabeth Wilmshurst CMG, Sir Michael Wood KCMG, and Sam Wordsworth QC.


The Institute is very grateful for the generous support of:

  • the donors to the 60+ Appeal which supports the work of the Centre and the Insitute more broadly
  • the donors to the Watts Fellowship appeal and, in particular, to Allan Myers AO QC of Melbourne, whose support has enabled the appointment of the first Arthur Watts Fellow;
  • the Dorset Foundation for its continued support of the Dorset Fellowship;
  • the Maurice Wohl Foundation for its continued support of the Maurice Wohl Fellowship

The Public International Law programme often seeks sponsorship for research projects and events. If you are interested in sponsorship opportunities, please check out the Support Us pages or contact Kristin Hausler, Director of the Centre for International Law.

Keep In Touch