Skip navigation

The Bingham Centre for Rule of Law

The rule of law is internationally recognised as a foundation for political stability, democratic governance, human dignity and economic prosperity. It is characterised by legal certainty, equality before the law, accountability and impartial dispute resolution.

The Bingham Centre for the Rule of Law was established in 2010 with a mission to advance the rule of law globally. Its name honours the work and career of Lord Bingham of Cornhill, a passionate advocate of the rule of law. Through research, publications, training and events the Bingham Centre works to democratise the rule of law, advance public understanding of its meaning, and embed the rule of law in relevant institutions, including governments, business and international organisations. More information on the Bingham Centre is available here.

The Bingham Appeal was launched in 2009 to establish the Bingham Centre. The Appeal continues to raise vital core funding for the Centre, enabling it to proactively address long-term challenges to the rule of law globally, as well as responding to emerging issues as they arise. Core funding also means we are able to recruit and retain a team of experienced staff, and promote our work to an international audience.

We are committed to ensuring that donors who are able to make a substantial contribution to the Bingham Appeal are given opportunities to engage in our work, for example through events, training and networking. We are also keen to provide donor law firms and in-house lawyers with opportunities for pro bono involvement in our research and capacity building.

If you would like to discuss supporting the Bingham Appeal, please contact Florence Skinner, Development Manager.

Alternatively, you can donate via the links below.

Information on BIICL's Donor Privacy Policy is available here.