Skip to content


British Institute of International and Comparative Law (BIICL) is a registered charity (Charity No. 209425) and also a company registered under English law (Company No. 615025). 

Read our Annual Reports

BIICL's governance structure includes officers of the charity, a board of trustees and a special advisory board. 

Research at BIICL is conducted in line with our Research Ethics Policy

BIICL is committed to being an organisation which takes a forward-looking and public position in the area of equality, diversity and inclusion. From 1st January 2021, we are applying a progressive Equality, Diversity and Inclusion Policy, which places such considerations at the centre of all BIICL activities, including, research, events and training.

It is our policy to provide a safe working environment.  For further details, see our policies on Anti-harassment, Bullying and Victimisation, and Safeguarding .

boardroom seating

BIICL Officers

President of the Institute

The Rt Hon the Lord Neuberger of Abbotsbury

Vice Presidents

  • The Rt Hon the Lord Collins of Mapesbury
  • The Rt Hon Sir David Edward KCMG
  • Sir Christopher Greenwood GBE CMG KC

Current Trustees of the British Institute of International and Comparative Law

Chair:  Eve Salomon CBE


  • Chiann Bao, Independent Arbitrator
  • Guy Beringer CBE KC (Hon), former Senior Partner, Allen & Overy
  • Shehzad Charania MBE, Legal Director, UK Government
  • Dean Curtis, Deputy Vice Chancellor and Chief Finance Officer, University of East London 
  • Kate Jones, CEO, Digital Regulation Cooperation Forum
  • Alex Just, Director, Forward Global
  • Dr Sorcha MacLeod, Associate Professor, University of Copenhagen
  • Professor Iain MacNeil, Alexander Stone Professor of Commercial Law, University of Glasgow
  • Habib Motani, former Partner, Clifford Chance
  • Liz Perks, Partner, Accounting Valuation Experts LLP
  • Rupert Skilbeck, Director, REDRESS
  • Professor Elies van Sliedregt, Professor of Criminal Law and Criminal Procedure, University of Tilburg

Advisers to the Board of Trustees

  • Martin Paisner CBE, Partner, Payne Hicks Beach

BIICL Advisory Council

Since its inception the Institute has benefited enormously from the external advice and guidance provided by its Advisory Council. This comprises eminent members of the judiciary, academics, practitioners and representatives of international organisations.

  • Professor Dapo Akande
  • David Anderson CMG
  • Sir Daniel Bethlehem KCMG KC
  • Sir Nicolas Bratza
  • Lord Carnwath of Notting Hill, CVO
  • Jeremy Carver CBE
  • Professor Christine Chinkin CMG FBA
  • Victoria Cochrane
  • Lord Collins of Mapesbury
  • Tim Cowen
  • Professor Sir Ross Cranston
  • Clare Dyer
  • Sir David Edward KCMG KC
  • Professor Piet Eeckhout
  • Professor Sir Malcolm Evans KCMG, OBE
  • Helen Fletcher Rogers
  • Lady Fox CMG KC
  • Professor David Freestone
  • Professor Sir Roy Goode CBE KC FBA
  • Baroness Hale of Richmond DBE
  • Prof Jonathan Harris KC(Hon)
  • Dame Rosalyn Higgins GBE KC
  • Lord Hoffmann
  • Lord Hope of Craighead KT
  • Michael Hutchings OBE
  • Alexander Layton KC
  • Judge Koen Lenaerts
  • Adam Johnson KC
  • Lord Lloyd Jones
  • John Louth
  • Professor Vaughan Lowe KC
  • The Rt Hon Beverley McLachlin
  • Lord Mance
  • Sir Peter North CBE DCL FBA KC
  • Martin Paisner CBE
  • Lord Phillips of Worth Matravers KG
  • Professor Jonathan Rickford CBE
  • Professor Sir Bernard Rix
  • Joshua Rozenberg KC (Hon)
  • Professor Philippe Sands KC
  • Sir Konrad Schiemann KC
  • Sir Stephen Sedley
  • Advocate General Eleanor Sharpston KC
  • Professor Malcolm Shaw KC
  • Professor Bruno Simma
  • Judge Christiaan Timmermans
  • Andrew Trollope KC
  • Stephen Walzer
Donate Now Keep In Touch
Save and continue