Skip to content

ITF Members and Membership

The Investment Treaty Forum's strength lies in its membership, which is drawn from as wide a range of backgrounds as possible. 

Members meet regularly (typically 6-7 times each year) to discuss topical issues and, where appropriate, to develop views on issues of concern to governments and decision-makers. 

The Forum also has strong links with related institutions, including the UK Foreign, Commonwealth and Development Office, the UNCTAD and many others.

Benefits of Membership

Key benefits for ITF members include:

  • The right to participate in an independent Forum, including free entry to all ITF meetings and conferences
  • A direct influence on the agenda of Forum meetings and the opportunity to recommend events, speakers and topics for debate
  • The opportunity to suggest research or other work to be carried out by the Forum staff
  • Access to a members-only section of the BIICL website including various materials related to investment treaty law

All Forum members also receive the following benefits: electronic access to the ICLQ; one free place per organisation at any standard BIICL evening event; and named forum representatives will also be eligible for BIICL member rate at other public Institute events.

Conditions of Membership

Forum membership is limited by invitation only, to ensure the highest quality in its plenary discussions. To guarantee continuity, and manageability of debate, membership is for named individuals only. However, at the time of joining, members may nominate a senior colleague to represent them on those occasions when they are unable to attend meetings.

Membership Rates

Membership of the ITF is available at the following annual rates (exclusive of VAT):

  • Corporate membership: £3,200
  • Individuals: £825

The Forum membership is by invitation only. For more information on ITF membership please contact Professor Yarik Kryvoi.

Forum Members

Investment Treaty Forum members include some of the most expert and experienced lawyers, academics and government officials and international civil servants working on international investment law.

Current members of the Investment Treaty Forum are listed below. The Forum membership is by invitation only. If you would like further details on how to become a member of the Forum, please contact Professor Yarik Kryvoi.



  • Professor Nicolas Angelet, Université libre de Bruxelles, Brussels
  • Thayananthan Baskaran, Baskaran, Kuala Lumpur
  • Professor Andrea Bjorklund, McGill University, Montreal
  • Raja Bose, K&L Gates, Singapore
  • Dr Tillmann Rudolf Braun, Federal Ministry for Economic Affairs and Climate Action
  • Dr Stuart Dutson, Simmons & Simmons, London
  • Raed Fathallah, Bredin Prat, Paris
  • Antolín Fernández Antuña, Antuña & Partners, Madrid
  • Professor Matthew Happold, University of Luxembourg, Luxembourg
  • Robert Hunter, Osborne Clarke, London 
  • Professor Attila M. Tanzi, University of Bologna
  • Professor Tomoko Ishikawa, Nagoya University, Nagoya
  • Shreyas Jayasimha, Aarna Law, India
  • Professor Mark Kantor, Georgetown University Law Center, Washington, D.C.
  • Vivek Kapoor, 39 Essex Chambers, London
  • Dr Inga Martinkute, MMSP, Vilnius
  • Professor Emeritus Maurice Mendelson QC, Blackstone Chambers, London
  • David A. Pawlak, David A. Pawlak LLC, Warsaw & Washington, D.C.
  • Dr Arman Sarvarian, University of Surrey
  • Dr Anthony Sinclair, Quinn Emanuel Urquhart & Sullivan, LLP, London
  • Can Yeginsu, 3 Verulam Buildings, London

Consultative Forum Members


  • American Review of International Arbitration
  • Arbitration and Conciliation Centre Integrarse
  • Arbitration and Mediation Center of Armenia
  • Attorney General's Chambers, Government of Montserrat
  • Attorney General Office of the State of the Republic of Ecuador
  • Business & Human Rights Resource Centre
  • Department for International Trade, United Kingdom
  • Energy Charter Secretariat
  • Foreign, Commonwealth and Development Office, United Kingdom
  • Gambia Maritime Administration
  • Government of Jersey
  • HM Revenue and Customs (HMRC)
  • The International Institute for Sustainable Development
  • The Legal Office for International Trade Law, Ministry of Economy, Government of Mexico
  • Ministry of Energy and Natural Resources, Republic of Turkey
  • Ministry of Economy and Finance, France
  • Ministry of Finance of the Czech Republic
  • Ministry of Justice of Ukraine
  • National Board of Trade, Sweden
  • Office of the Attorney General of Spain
  • Office of the General Counsel to the Republic of Poland
  • Office of the Representative of the Republic of Armenia on International Legal Matters
  • The Organisation for Economic Cooperation and Development
  • The Permanent Court of Arbitration
  • The Permanent Mission of Zimbabwe to the United Nations Office
  • The Permanent Representation of the Slovak Republic to the European Union
  • Secretariat for Legal Affairs - Presidency of the Republic of Ecuador
  • State Chancellery of Latvia
  • Trade Law Bureau, Government of Canada
  • Treasury Legal Advisers, Government Legal Department, United Kingdom
  • The United Nations Conference on Trade and Development
  • Undersecretariat of International Economic Affairs of Chile


  • Sir Frank Berman, KCMG KC, Essex Court Chambers
  • Professor Jansen Calamita, National University of Singapore (former ITF director)
  • Norah Gallagher, Queen Mary University of London (former ITF director)
  • Judge Christopher Greenwood KC, International Court of Justice
  • Professor Loukas Mistelis, Queen Mary University of London
  • Professor Peter Muchlinski, School of Oriental and African Studies, University of London
  • Dr Federico Ortino, School of Law, King's College London (former ITF Director)
  • Dr Antonio Parra, Visiting Professor, University College London and former Deputy Secretary-General, International Centre for the Settlement of Investment Disputes
  • Dr Karl P Sauvant, Columbia University Law School
  • Professor Christoph Schreuer, University of Vienna
  • Judge Stephen M. Schwebel, Essex Court Chambers
  • Professor M Sornarajah, National University of Singapore
Donate Now Keep In Touch
Save and continue