Visiting Fellowships at the Institute

The British Institute of International and Comparative Law welcomes applications from international legal academics and scholars to conduct their own research whilst based in London. The objectives of the Visiting Research Fellowship are to provide scholars with an opportunity to have a base in London to carry out independent research work - which should be closely linked with that of the Institute, its research fellows, and its ongoing research programme - whilst benefiting from working in proximity with the Institute's permanent research staff.

Visiting Research Fellows are provided for the duration of their stay with a shared work station, computer and, if relevant, BIICL email address. In return, a small 'bench fee' of £150 a month is charged to cover administration costs. The Visiting Research Fellow will be expected to present a seminar, if requested, and to engage appropriately with Institute events. The Visiting Research Fellow will be expected to take out Institute membership.

Please note that applicants must ensure that they are legally entitled to work in the UK in order to be considered for a Visiting Fellowship. Applicants currently in the UK on a tourist visa are not eligible for the Visiting Fellowship Programme.

To apply for a Visiting Research Fellowship, in the first instance please email the following information to the General Manager, Geoffrey Sautner, at

  • A brief biographical note;
  • A brief summary of the research you intend to carry out whilst at BIICL;
  • A short reference from an academic institution, professional body or similar; and
  • The proposed length of stay.

Current Visiting Fellows of the Institute are as follows:

  • Paul Barnett, Adviser on Treaty Practice and Procedures, Formerly Head of Treaty Section, Foreign & Commonwealth Office (2002-2010)
  • Dr. George Barker, Director, Centre for Law and Economics, Australian National University
  • Alex Bates, Barrister, International Criminal Lawyer and Consultant
  • Dr Giulio Bartolini, Assistant Professor of International Law, Department of Law, University of Roma III
  • Claire Bright, PhD Candidate in International Law, European University Institute, Florence
  • Tim Cowen, Barrister, Visiting Professor City of London School of Law; Distinguished Visiting Fellow, European Business School, London
  • Andrew Dickinson, Solicitor Advocate and Consultant, Clifford Chance LLP, England
  • Huong Duong, PhD candidate, Macquarie Law School, Macquarie University, Sydney
  • Dr Agnieszka Jachec-Neale, Legal Consultant in International Humanitarian Law and Rule of Law
  • Professor Malcolm Forster, Freshfields Bruckhaus Deringer LLP
  • Professor Suzannah Linton, Chair of International Law, Bangor University
  • Professor Margot Horspool, Visiting Fellow in European Law, London
  • Jinsoo Jung, Deputy Director and Patent Examiner, South Korean Intellectual Property Office
  • Professor Matthias Lehmann, Martin-Luther-University Halle-Wittenberg, School of Law and Business
  • Artemis Malliaropoulou, PhD candidate in European Public Law, University of Athens
  • Dr Norman Mugarura, Legal Consultant in Financial Law
  • Leonello Perugini, PhD candidate in Comparative Law, University of Urbino "Carlo Bo"
  • Luis Velarde Saffer, International Arbitration
  • Professor Sabine Schlemmer-Schulte, Professor of Law at McGeorge School of Law, Sacramento
  • Vincent Smith, Consultant, Hausfeld & Co LLP
  • Professor Jane Stapleton, Ernest E Smith Professor of Law at the University of Texas School of Law; Statutory Visiting Professor and Member of the Law Faculty of Oxford University; Professor, John Fleming Centre for Advancement of Legal Research, The Australian National University College of Law
  • Jane Welch, formerly Director of the Institute's European Financial and Corporate Law Centre

Honorary Fellowships at BIICL

The Institute appoints a select number of Honorary Fellows each year on the basis of their outstanding and ongoing contributions to its work.

Honorary Fellows are invited by the Director to join the Institute and appointed annually. Honorary Fellows are provided with Institute email, office and computer facilities where necessary and will be eligible to apply to the Institute for Advanced Legal Studies for library access. All Honorary Fellows are invited to join the Institute at the academic rate and will be eligible to attend Institute events at that rate.

The Institute has currently three Honorary Fellows:

  • Professor Don Greig of the Australian National University
  • Professor Alan Boyle of the University of Edinburgh
  • Lady Hazel Fox CMG QC 4-5 Gray's Inn Square